Tags

, , , , , , , ,

After 3 whole years of living the Paleo/Crossfit lifestyle, I have FINALLY started reading “The Paleo Solution”….SHAME! SHAME!! I know…I know…at least I’m reading it NOW!

While I was scanning the book and flipping to the implementation chapter (I’m just not one for much “science”, haha)…I started wondering where in the book I could find information for:

-helping family members get started

-convincing them I’m not crazy….and to just try it for themselves for ONE month (I know you don’t think I’m crazy, but there has to be a littttttle bit of “that chick is whack” in your mind, or else I wouldn’t be writing this post :) )

-helping people understand that this is a lifestyle, and it may take some time (it’s not a shake that comes in all kinds of flavors and promises to make you lose 40 pounds in a month)

-Convincing family who live in places like, ohhh…Caribou, Maine…that regardless of produce selection, there ARE ways to go about this lifestyle.

Now mom, dad and Justin…this is NOT a pick-on-you sort of thing…at all! I GET that there is not as much of a selection up in the ‘Bou…I know this because when Nick and I go to visit, we stop in Portland, ME at the nearest Whole Foods for groceries…

…folks, Portland is 6 hours away…

I just want to be able to answer these kind of questions for ANYONE who may be feeling these things…especially for my family, because I want you to live a LONGGGGGG, happy life. Mom, maybe this will speak more to YOUR values…I want you to play for a LONGGG time with your future grand kids who are not in existence right now, but I KNOWWWW you’re really excited for… soon!!…from Justin :) )

So, I decided to take matters into my own hands and contact the source!! I emailed Robb Wolf, and since Robb is a super busy guy, I got an email from his assistant, Chris. Here are some of the resources he provided me:

~ This is an AWESOME site called www.localharvest.org, in which you can plug in your town and there will be a list of local produce/meat/dairy farmers and providers in your neck of the woods for you to contact! Just for shits and giggles, I plugged in “Caribou, ME”: here is what I found (MOM!) :) :

http://www.localharvest.org/search.jsp?map=1&lat=46.84778&lon=-68.010475&scale=9&nm=&zip=04736

Go ahead and try it with your OWN town! (Mom, just click on that link :) )

~Can’t find anything near you on the site? You’re in luck! They have a “store” where you can buy things that may not be local for you:

http://www.localharvest.org/store/

Now, is this going to be more expensive than shopping at the local grocery store? OF COURSE IT WILL! I need you to look yourself in the mirror right now and ask yourself this question, however:

“Am I willing to pay for my health now? or pay for my sickness later?”

Don’t be a procrastinator.

~Another option for healthy meat would be http://www.grasslandbeef.com. Pick out the meat, and they will mail it directly to your door!

~Of course there is always the option of the grocery store, and picking out the best that you can. Look for grass-fed, organic meats, and pasture-raised (or free-range) poultry. As far as eggs go, look for pasture-raised (or again, free-free, or cage-free) and organic eggs…always best, however, from a farmer so you can grill them on how they raise their chickens. Maybe I will do a follow up on what specific things to ask a farmer when looking for healthy meats and eggs…hmmm.

Finally, Chris mentioned that Robb’s Paleo Diet Budget Shopping Guide is super helpful, so if you want to buy that, you can do that right here: http://robbwolf.com/shop/products/paleo-diet-budget-grocery-shopping/.

Finally, I often hear, “I just can’t eat that way…I just don’t know what to eat!”

Here’s a question for you, have you ever had bacon and eggs for breakfast? yes? How about a salad for lunch…? yeahhh? Okay, how about a steak and some veggies for dinner? YEAH?! Well, congratulations, you are bonified Paleo eater! Now…we just need to work on stringing them together!

Here are some other awesome resources to get you started:

www.simplypaleo.com (my sister from another mother’s blog…she’s a DAMN good chef!)

www.everydaypaleo.com

www.nomnompaleo.com

www.paleomg.com

Now guys, if you feel that this blog is talking right to you…it’s probably because it is…Take it this way, it means I super love you and want all of you to be as healthy as possible (this does not JUST include my family ps:). Since I’ve started this lifestyle I have gained an amount of health I didn’t even know was possible…so OF COURSE I want that for you as well!

If you live in the Santa Barbara area, and you just don’t have a flippin’ clue what I’m talking about with this Paleo Diet thing…you either,

a) have never read my blog before, or…

b) just still don’t know how to implement it.

If your answer was B, Nick and I are having a Paleo Diet workshop here at the office on August 8th at 6:30pm. We will talk about the what, the how and all the science and tips in between. Check us out August 8th at 6:30 at Santa Barbara Family Chiropractic (360 S. Hope Ave C100 in SB).

Feel free to shoot me an email (jen@thebeautifullystrong.com) if you have any questions that you don’t want everyone else to read!

With love and health,

Jen

created by The Beautifully Strong Project

