Tags

, , , , , ,

I would say that this morning, in Coffee Bean on upper State, I had my breaking point. After a morning which included no breakfast, because I have yet to go buy some more groceries; once I stepped up to the counter at Coffee Bean to ask if they carried almond milk and I received a brief response of “no, soy”…I felt an odd feeling coming closer to the surface. Nick ordered coffee (he didn’t say he was going to give it up…) and I felt a dash of salt directly to my open wound (lack of coffee makes me dramatic). I ordered…wahh wahhh…vanilla tea.

I held it together until after we paid…then I turned around and felt tears welling up.

Really…this happened.

I would say that I have reached the pinnacle of my withdrawal :-p

Haha, it’s important to be able to laugh at yourself.

Dinner: Cobb Salad

Cobb salad with ranch…yes I had ranch. There was not that much, and it was homemade with buttercream and mayo…I didn’t feel terrible about doing this.

Other than ranch dressing, there was dark leafy greens, bacon, egg, tomato and avocado. We passed on the blue cheese.

This was paired with a small glass of Syrah.

*In case you’re wondering about the Syrah; there are arguments from Paleo experts saying a glass of wine or clear liquor is fine in moderation for Paleo. If you disagree, I’d love to hear :)*

Breakfast: banana

This is part of the reason I had a “melt down” over tea…we need groceries. Have I mentioned this yet?

Nick made a smoothie but then told me how bad it tasted…I did not feel like finding out whether he was correct…I passed.

I mentioned yesterday that I had a recipe for that crazy, delicious chocolate mousse…and I will keep my word 🙂

Chocolate Mousse of the Gods: by Chris & Jen Benoit

4 small, very ripe avocados

1/2 cup maple syrup

2 tbsp virgin coconut oil

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp balsamic vinegar

1 cup pure cocoa powder

1) In a blender or food processor, blend avocados, maple syrup, coconut oil, vanilla, balsamic until smooth and creamy.

2) Add the cocoa powder and blend until smooth.

3) Place mousse in individual dessert dishes and garnish with raspberries or fruit of choice 🙂

Yields about 6 servings. Leftover mousse can be stored in a tightly sealed container for up to a week in the fridge.

 

That’s about it for today! Quick shout-out to Marya for ROCKING the pull-ups last night!! You KILLED it! 🙂

