Tags

, , , , ,

 “In life, there are no ordinary moments. Most of us never really recognize the most significant moments of our lives when     they are happening.” -Kathleen Magee 

To say that this quote is significant in my life right now would be an understatement. While there is a blue whirl of chaos around Nick and I right now, in it, somehow, I’m finding serenity. This morning I got up early to drive down to the ocean and go for a run. Now for those of you who know me well, you know how I feel about running…I detest it! I dont’ really understand why people do it…it’s not fun, and it hurts…oh it hurts so bad. I truly, however, wanted to go out and run today…not because of the actual act of running, but because of what I knew was waiting for me there. A blue ocean, a blue sky, white sand, and a row of tall, green palm trees. After my run, I had the absolutely PLEASURE of having an hour-long conversation with my much-loved friend, Alexis, while I sat next to the ocean. What an incredible way to start a day, huh?

After talking to Alexis I started thinking about where my heart has been for the last month. Moving to a new area, a new side of the country, a new group of people, a new job, a new home, a new relationship status for Pete’s sake; it easy to get tangled up in all of that and forget what makes you happy, what makes you feel full of life. I have not been taking care of myself. I have been eating probably the best I ever have since being here, today is the first cup of caffeinated coffee I have had since being here, and I have the most consistent workout schedule I think I ever have…but I have not been feeding my heart…my soul. I wish that I could sit here this very second and list out my goals to you of what exactly it would be that makes me feel life full right now…but I’m not really sure to be honest. I’ve been so wrapped up in personal improvement of myself, how to market our new business, how to balance working with, living with and loving Nick in our new situation, how to make our name go up the pages on Google, how to create this or that; so much that I have legitimately been losing sleep over it…that I have forgotten what makes ME happy, what makes me feel full.

 I’m so grateful for my talk this morning with Alexis, for so many reasons. She is the type of person who makes you see how wonderful and beautiful and INTERESTING you are, and you can almost HEAR her heart …hear how much she cares for you and the world as a whole. She is the most affirming person I have ever met on the planet. She also, however, tends to always spark that inspiration in me that I need…she’s that gentle little kick in the ass without even meaning to be. After asking me what my favorite part of being in Santa Barbara was, and if it is life-giving…I said yes, of course, but realized that I haven’t really taken the time to see what kind of life-giving it has for me! Santa Barbara, I haven’t even really met you! So thank you Lex for the conversation this morning…I’m going to figure out what is life-giving to me and DO it…and I challenge all of you to do the same

Much love,

Jen

